It’s not Duck Egg Blue……

by Susan from SVM Interiors Ltd

Lupita Nyong’o is a beautiful, talented young lady who never thought of herself as black until she came to the United States. What does that say about our society! The daughter of a politician in Nairobi, she had a relatively privileged upbringing and wanted to persue a career as an actress rather than a doctor or politician and came to study here at Yale School of Drama. For anyone that saw 12 Years a Slave, she very much deserved her Oscar.

So, it is tongue-in-cheek that I created this post. What with the social unrest around the world, poverty, 35,000 elephants being slaughtered every year, (terrible) global warming and cooling, I just had to lighten the tone a tad and comment on the controversy of the color of her Oscar dress: NairobiBlue.  A mis-informed presenter on E! news said it was Duck Egg Blue, it is not.

Image

Lupita looking like a goddess in her Prada ‘Baby Blue’ dress. The blue reminding her of Nairobi. Image via cocosteaparty.com

Image

This is Duck Egg Blue people.  This is a room I created for the House & Garden Show in London, UK. Duck Egg Blue has more green in it. The paint color I used was Farrow and Ball, Blue Green.  This is my favorite color – ever, it reminds me of oceans and is calming and elegant. Image: Susan Van Meter Interiors.

Image

Laura Ashley Duck Egg Blue paint. I thought was a good representation of the color.

Image

I rest my case. Actual duck eggs.

Images via google search, unless otherwise stated.